top of page

SIPs

SIPs are here!

Much of the build has revolved around SIPs. SIP stands for structural insulated panels. Each and every SIP part is custom made for our structure.

This is where modern building science comes into play in my build. Not only are SIP panels stronger than standard stick and frame construction, they are much more energy efficient. (Add the timber frame to the equation, and this small build is way over engineered from a strength standpoint.)

Think of SIPs as a large custom made sweater over the top of your home. Unlike traditional framing where insulation is sandwiched between studs, SIPs allow for zero thermal (moisture/air) breaks at each stud. They match up perfect with timber frame construction, because they allow the frame to be fully exposed, as well.

I was slightly surprised with the number of pieces delivered. They easily completely filled a full semi-truck flatbed. 60+ large Lego pieces ready to build with.

Like so much during this project, many hours of work pre-planning and prep work, makes for a fast and efficient install. If I were to do one thing differently in hindsight, I would have ordered the SIP panels much earlier. Due to the custom nature of their construction, the lead time was significant. (I put money down the first part of May!) I truly underestimated this time on my part.

I used a awesome company, Entercept. A couple things I like about Entercept is they are made in the USA in Watertown, SD. Their customer service and communication was great. That said, anticipate some lead-time. If I would have ordered a month or two earlier, we would have raised the frame a solid month earlier.

During previous building projects, the size of the space grew and shrunk with each major stage of construction. Kate and I have both been surprised how much this space continues to grow. It is perhaps the most spacious 450 square feet I have ever walked in to. I am feeling very proud of my design!

Three solid days of work and countless person hours later, the frame is enclosed and ready for mechanicals and finish work.

bottom of page