top of page

Building FAQ?

The most frequent questions I receive on my blog and social media sites are, "What are you using your timber frame for?" And, "Where are you building?" I have also had a handful people stop me in town and ask, "When is your family moving into your tiny house." (You have to love small town rumor mills!)

The last question is the easiest to answer. While I have a slightly crazy side, I am not insane. Kate, myself, three teenage boys plus a couple dogs and cats in 420 square feet of living space.... Well, that idea has NEVER crossed my mind!

I will be the first to admit that I am pretty vague about my personal intentions with the use of our timber frame. This is not to be secretive nor misleading. Instead, my hope is that this build inspires others to take on a similar or completely different project that reaches beyond their comfort zone.

My mother never bought my sister and me coloring books as a kid. She didn't want our creativity to be bound by predefined lines. (Don't worry we were in no way, shape or form deprived as children.) This way of thinking has been engrained in me. My hope is everyone lives their life with intentional creativity as unique as they are.

Like most things in life, there is more than one source of inspiration. This is the same for our tiny timber frame.

Two years ago, Kate and I traveled to the Minnesota North Shore to look at land. There is something magical about the big lake. It is a place we visit frequently to relax and play. We met with an amazing relator and viewed a number of incredible parcels of land.

On our way back, we both knew almost instantly we weren't ready for a cabin that far from our home at this point in our life. Kate and I have very active careers and three busy boys. It isn't that we wouldn't enjoy living on the North Shore 3-4 weeks each year. However, one can rent some amazing places for that length of time for substantially less than buying and building! Plus, we enjoy traveling to different destinations and didn't like the idea of feeling obligated to one location. What we thought we wanted, wasn't exactly what we really did. With zero regrets, we shelved the idea for another time.

Fast forward to a year ago. For our our 20th wedding anniversary, I rented a little get away in the middle of nowhere between the MN Range and Boundary Waters. It was one of our best weekend escapes we have had over our twenty years of marriage.

Completely unplugged and surrounded only by the noises of nature, we were able to dream and become inspired by the possibilities that lay ahead. There was a beautiful connection between the restored hand hewn Fin Cabin and tranquility of the land.

I was inspired to build a similar sanctuary for ourselves and others in need of refocusing. I started searching for land closer to home and quickly became an expert navigating real estate websites and apps for a quiet piece of land. A few months passed and nothing called to me to as an option to present to Kate for further discussion.

Sometimes answers are hiding right in front of your face.

When we bought our current home, we instantly fell in love with it. We purchased it, sold our previous house and moved in under a month without ever being in the market for a new place.

Most mornings, I walk out to the back corner of our property to watch the sunrise over one of my favorite vistas. The only sound one hears is the birds welcoming the sun on a new day. No matter the season we are greeted with amazing views. This is our own private paradise and where our timber frame is destined to live.

"What are you using your timber frame for?" is the most personal question of the lot. While the use for this building is clear, it is what works for us and may not for others. Kate's Place - My wife, Kate, is my greatest muse. Without any question, the number one reason I am building the timber frame is for her. This is Kate's escape. It is a sanctuary for her to recharge, create, read, meditate, nap, dream. Kate is an incredibly strong, intelligent woman that gives so selflessly to others. She asks for nothing in return except to make the world a slightly better place each day. My only fear is that she may permanently move out leaving "the boys" to fend for themselves. If so, I hope is she sometimes lets me in when I show up on the doorstep. Our Guests - A full house is a happy house. With three boys, our house is always full! As a couple, Kate and I take great joy in being a gathering space for friends and family. We are huge fans of impromptu visitors and adventures. We guarantee no guest will ever leave hungry nor thirsty. Our hope is the cabin will extend friend's stay and the fullness of our home. Kid Free - We love kids! To be a good parent, one needs kid free spaces and time. This is a 100% kid free space.

A Start of Something Bigger - During the building process, I have had inspiration for a number of future projects - some big and others small. While I am still trying to digest and sort out many of these ideas, a couple have started to take form. I personally struggle with how disposable our economy is. I live my life by the belief - if something is worth buying, buy it well. I am a HUGE supporter of small businesses and quality US manufactures. I personally believe a portion of our loss of US manufacturing jobs isn't due to simple outsourcing but consumers unquenchable hunger for stuff. We will save that conversation for another day, because it is not a simple one with a single, easy answer. Something that is not deniable is a large portion of our nations productivity goes into consuming items that are made to be thrown away. (Not to mention the staggering amount of merchandise purchased each year and never used but to fulfill a quick dopamine rush.) Clothing, electronics, appliances, tools, etc. all have inexpensive options that are made to have a limited useful life. The disposible mindset carries over into a lot of housing materials. Go to any big-box home improvement store, and one will find way too many poorly manufactured building materials.

This build is my own personal experiment to see if a relatively inexperienced builder like myself can create a modest size home that is built better and less expensive than many alternative options combining the best of old-world and modern techniques. If I am successful, (which is still to be determined and may not be,) I have visions for future projects. Get out and build your own dreams and visions!

bottom of page