top of page

A Foundation with Barry

I debated a long time on how to build the foundation for our small cabin for months. The site I selected has unique challenges. There are no roads into the site. It is built on a hill close to a wetland. If we were to use traditional utilities, there are numerous large physical obstacles to overcome. I had designed a plan for a pier foundation with a unique wrap and strap build for the outside walls around that system. My main motivation was I wanted to complete the entire build myself without hiring any outside help while designing a long-lasting and efficient site for the cabin to live. The idea of hauling in or mixing enough concrete for piers seemed almost manageable compared to the work needed to haul in yards and yards of concrete for a more traditional design.

As I traveled further and further down the rabbit hole and planning all the small pieces of the build, I realized what I truly wanted the final build to look like and my desire to build everything myself were at odds. When I deeply reflected on what I wanted the finished cabin to feel like, I knew it was a more traditional foundation. I needed help with the foundation if I wanted the structure enclosed before the first snow!

Enter Barry Frieler and North Country Custom Builders. The best money spent of the entire build! I can not recommend North Country Builders enough. More on that after a short side trip....

I contacted a number of contractors. Some were big well known names in the area, others were on the smaller side. I was astonished with the telephone demeanor and lack of professionalism amongst big and small builders alike.

I spent fifteen years of my professional life as a wedding photographer. I have seen so many parallels between photography and construction during this journey. I knew when every couple called they may not be a perfect fit for style of photography or what I charged. They also may not truly know what they want in photography and most likely had never planned a wedding or large event. I treated EVERY couple with respect. I listened. I asked questions. If I wasn't a good fit, I would provide a solid recommendation for someone I knew would take care of them and best fit their needs. This approach benefited me ten fold over the long-term. I never felt economic effects of the recession when many photographers were culled out of the industry.

At the end of the day, when one is looking for a professional photographer, financial planner, accountant, contractor, etc., you are hiring someone on a promise that they will do the job right. You want someone with experience, communication skills, and who takes pride in a job well done. Barry and the team at North Country Builders all have this embedded in their DNA. While all the work I have contracted with North Country Builders isn't complete (I have a holding tank install and compete set of SIP panels contracted with them that I will hopefully feature soon.), I couldn't recommend Barry more!

When I first contacted Barry, he returned my call immediately excited to talk about my build. I told him about my vision, work I had completed and what I needed done. I had the frame cut, site cleared and informed him I was handy with a number of carpentry skills but I needed someone that could help me design, place and build the foundation and bring all the utilities I needed to the site.

Barry scheduled a site visit. After two contractor visits that were less than lack luster and too many phone calls to mention before meeting with Barry, I was a little nervous if I was ever going to find the builder I was looking for.

I knew within five minutes of our meeting I found my contractor. It was like looking in the mirror when talking to Barry, but someone with WAY more building experience. It was obvious through his enthusiasm he cares and takes pride in his work. There was no half-way switch in his work ethic. Days later, Barry provided me with a clear spreadsheet of services we had talked about. Each part of construction was individually and clearly priced. I could choose any or all of the work I would like him and his team to do. We tweaked a few details, signed a contract and Barry's team took over with clear communication when he needed me to make a decision or complete work I was responsible to do.

The above image represents no less than a week and half of a team of workers hauling tail to complete. I cannot even imagine where I would be if I had attempted this portion of the build myself.

There is nothing better than a fresh slab of concrete overlooking this amazing piece of land!

P.S. - When I talk about best money spent, it is not just the professionalism and quality work. That is super important! However, the best part is Kate has been a much happier wife not seeing me out on the site mixing bag after bag of concrete. It has also allowed me to get a jump start on some of the finish carpentry such as prepping and painting the interior paneling.

bottom of page